Only Four Weeks To Go…

Three months since my last blog!

I know it’s been a while since my last running update but to be honest I’ve tried not to jinx myself.

When I had to pull out of the Perth marathon back in June I was absolutely devastated and for a while I didn’t even know if I was able to continue running. But luck was on my side, my injury healed, and I was slowly able to put my running shoes back on.

To recap on my last blog, once I was back up and running I reset my goals and my new marathon was to be Rottnest on Sunday, October 25th. I had every intention of running two half marathons beforehand – the Perth Half and the City to Surf Half, however sometimes life pulls us in different directions and I ended up being overseas for both events so my training had to be adjusted. To cut a long story short I really picked up my training about two months ago and “knock on wood” everything has gone to plan – Of course there’s been the occasional niggle here and there, but nothing to stop me from running. I’ve had to make a few adjustments to my training, to prevent any further injuries, but the positive sign is that I’ve been able to get through my long runs and there’s only two more weeks of training before the tapering starts, wohoo!

I must say jumping back on the horse hasn’t been easy – winter, travel, jetlag, work, heat, running solo, niggles, humidity, unfamiliar locations etc, has made it all the more challenging. But the thing that has kept me motivated has been my commitment to my cause and my running group friends. As the saying goes “time flies” and believe it or not things have just got real – my first marathon is only FOUR weeks away!!

The Perth weather is warming up and it won’t be long until that last Sunday in October arrives. I feel that it’s time to get the word out again and my reasons for running the Rottnest Marathon. If you can spare a moment please click on the link below and see what it’s all about. I’ll be sure to keep you updated weekly right up until the Rottnest Marathon starts!

https://fundrazr.com/campaigns/exquc/sh/c4d7Wc

 “If you want to win something, run 100 meters… If you want to experience something, run a marathon” – Emil Zatopek

Leave a Reply

