Sometimes it’s Just About Getting the Job Done

I know I know – It’s Friday and I’m only just posting my blog from last week! I apologise ten fold!

My excuse is that I spent the second half of last week, and the first half of this week, in Melbourne and so I found myself completely out of my running routine (and blogging routine).

Anyways, enough about that and more about last week! This was another week of firsts for me – The first time I’d run 26km’s (I managed to drag a friend along, poor Eliza!), the first time I consumed two Gu Gel’s in one run, and the first time I had to “fit in” my runs rather than it be part of my daily routine. It was a challenging week nonetheless, but it was still important that I stuck to my routine and got the job done!

The highlight for me was running 26km’s last Saturday… Two and half hours of running (and chatting) through Melbourne city and along the Melbourne beaches. I let Eliza take care of the directions and found myself just going along for the ride. Sure there were times where I struggled, but this was more of a mental test than anything else. It’s interesting how your mind maps out the run for you:

10km  – the first Gu Gel to look forward to

10-16km – grind

16km – “only 10km’s to go!”

20km – the second Gu Gel to look forward to

20-26km – home stretch!

The view of Melbourne city along the beach was a sight worth seeing and so was the Port Adelaide football club at St Kilda Beach, warming up ahead of their big game that night!

The title pretty much speaks for itself – last week was all about just getting the job done, regardless of where I was or how I was feeling. The best thing was that I witnessed a change of scenery and experienced running in a different environment (a much cooler environment I must say!). And that’s the best thing about running – it doesn’t matter where you are or who you’re with, all you need is a pair of running shoes and away you go!

Scary to think there’s only 8 weeks to go until I run my first marathon, yikes!!

Until my next blog in a couple of day’s time please keep those donations coming!

https://fundrazr.com/campaigns/exquc/sh/c4d7Wc

“Running has given me the courage to start, the determination to keep trying, and the childlike spirit to have fun along the way. Run often and run long, but never outrun your joy of running” – Julie Isphording

IMG_6800

Leave a Reply

